Outstanding Regional Results

Outstanding Regional Results
Posted on 02/07/2019
On Saturday, February 2, the YBMS and BSHS Technology Student Association competed at their regional conference at Gettysburg High School. Mr. Gutacker, Mr. Ronan, Mr. Jarrett, and Mr. Fetterolf took 23 middle school and 21 high school students to compete in events that they have been preparing during after school work sessions since September. Their hard work paid off as they won a combined total of 59 awards.

The following YBMS students won won first place ribbons: Claire James, Nathaniel Harbst, Charlie McPhail, Ryan Yunk, Eugene Heyman, Owen Schlotthauer, Ben Snyder, Stan Venskyy, and Brady Kondek.

The following BSHS students won first place ribbons: Ali Baker, Ellie Blanchard, Wesley Dellinger, Evan Kase, Morgan Chamberlin, Ben Cook, Anna Chamberlin, Maddie Steinour, Ben Fasick, and Jiana Kole.

In addition to competitions, several students volunteered to serve on the regional planning committee. Wesley Dellinger, Ellie Blanchard, and Ali Baker worked with students from four surrounding districts to plan special interest sessions and to raise funds for the American Cancer Society. Two of these students were also elected to serve on the regional officer team. Wesley was elected as President and Ellie was elected as Secretary.

This year's TSA students competed in a variety of events ranging from computer aided design to fashion design. Other popular events include graphic design, software design, website design, problem solving, mass production, and dragster. Over half of the students that competed at the regional conference plan to attend the State conference at Seven Springs Resort in April. They will spend every Tuesday and Thursday after school (and countless hours of their free time) to revise projects and prepare to compete against hundreds of students from across the state. This is the largest group that South Middleton has ever planned to take to the State Conference.

The following students competed at the conference and should be recognized for their hard work and accomplishments: 

Roman Arbour, Eli Bounds, Noah Butler, Michael Crowther, Conner Dieck, Kathryn Felix, Nathaniel Harbst, EJ Heyman, Claire James, Alexa Jones, Brady Kondek, Charlie McPhail, Christopher Powers, Morgen Ronan, Owen Schlotthauer, Joe Sellers, Ben Snyder, Lucas Sparages, Macy Trostle, Stan Venskyy, Caleb Wasielewski, Charlie Willacy, and Ryan Yunk

Joshua Anderson, Lindsey Aunkst, Ali Baker, Ellie Blanchard, Nathan Book, Anna Chamberlin, Morgan Chamberlin, Ben Cook, Roy Delevan, Wesley Dellinger, Nevin Disque, Owen Engle, Ben Fasick, Avery Johnson, Evan Kase, Jiana Kole, Jack Meikrantz, Landon Miller, Jacob Sparages, Maddie Steinour, and Laurin Still